Washington County, Kansas Courthouse Courtesy Photo

Washington County, Kansas

Located in North Central Kansas

Washington County Health Needs Assessment
18th Annual Fall Health Fair
(Lab work only) 10/3/15 7:00 a.m. 12:30 p.m.
at Washington Co. Elementary Gym
114 North "E" St., Washington, KS

Janice Kearn, R.N., Administrator
Click to visit County Health Page



Washington County, Kansas is located south of the Kansas-Nebraska border and east of the 6th Principal Meridian. U.S. Highway 36 runs east and west across the county. State Highway 15 runs north and south.

Washington County is made up of twelve cities/villages; Barnes, Clifton, Greenleaf, Haddam, Hanover, Hollenberg, Linn, Mahaska, Morrowville, Palmer, Vining, and Washington, which is the county seat. There are twenty-five (25) townships in the 30 miles by 30 miles that comprise the county.

As you browse through our county via this website you will become acquainted with our history; the past, present and our future goals. You will learn what Washington County has to offer, and become familiar with the information contained on this site that is designed to be helpful and answer a variety of questions.

You are encouraged to visit our community on a day trip, overnight stop, family reunion or weekend visit. You'll discover the diversity of the area, meet some friendly, interesting people and take home memories to last until your next visit to our area.

Hundreds of opportunites await the traveler or business firm looking to relocate within our boundaries.

To the left are the links to the various pages on our website. Hopefully, you will find the information you are seeking, learn what is available in Washington County and come back for another visit.

Back to Top
Email Webmaster: Anita Childerston